El Camino 105

~El Camino ~ The Way~ The Path~ The Road~

Lydia and Keith Smith ~ September 28th 2019 ~ Palestine Texas

An interview with Lydia Smith

By Ruth Smith

(i.e. Big sister little sister banter 🙂 )

Ruth; OK girl, what was the first thing you did?

Lydia; We got there, and then sat there for an hour, like literally an hour, it was yeah about an hour. And we advertised for our ride.

Ruth; And what was your ride?

Lydia; Paluxy Pedal and Gotta Love Gravel.

Ruth; What else?

Lydia; Well we talked to people.

Ruth; What did you eat?

Lydia; I ate at Sonic, I got a Sprite and a burger.

Ruth; Where did you sleep that night?

Lydia; We slept in our camper.

Ruth; How early did you get up the next morning?

Lydia; I don’t know… Ruth there’s a big problem I don’t know when I got up.

Ruth; Well I don’t know either.

Lydia; Well then what do I say?

Ruth; I don’t know! What did you do after you got up?

Lydia; Oh you don’t wanna know… wait wait wait don’t say that… I put my cycling cloths on… wait wait wait did you actually just say that?!

Ruth; Yes keep going, what did you have for breakfast?

Lydia; Ummm I think I had cereal… yeah I had cereal.

Ruth; Do you know how many other people were there? (Lydia quit taking selfies with dad’s ipad… and take off his glasses)

Lydia; Well I don’t really know, I just know I was there, and there were a lot of people there.

Ruth; So how was the start?

Lydia; Was ummmm I was shaking a lot, wait no no no don’t put that in there, I was very scared. But it was soooo loud it was like Wahoooooo!!! Wait go back and read what I said and tell me if it sounds stupid.

Ruth; Never mind that, was it cold? Hot? See anyone you know?

Lydia; Umm well at the start it was just a little bit chilly but that’s because the sun wasn’t up yet. We meet lots of dad’s Instagram followers um who I don’t really know.

Ruth; Yeah so how was the first bit?

Lydia; It was quiet and we were going kinda fast.

Ruth; Did it take a long time to get to the gravel?

Lydia; Umm maybe like… one hour ? (in Lydia time) well there wasn’t really any gravel any way just a little bit but they called it gravel.

Ruth; So what was it?

Lydia; SAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ruth; So this, what rest stop was this at?

Lydia; Well it was at the first one, where we almost fell over

Ruth; What did you eat there?

Lydia; Oh ummm, my chews, I didn’t get anything because it was just a water break.

Ruth; What happened in these picture? Why aren’t you on the bike?

Lydia; Ugg we had to walk… ’cause the sand got thicker and thicker and thicker and thicker and thicker and THICKER and THICKER and THICKER… wait no not that thick but pretty thick. And one time we even tipped over!!!

Ruth; ( I think she meant deeper but thicker works too) What about your face in this picture?

Lydia; *Sigh* I was very very tired.

Ruth; Did you eat and drink a lot?

Lydia; Ummm yeah. There was fruit chews and umm a bar and water, mix, mix and water actually.

Ruth; And here is your finish line pic. You look dirty and tired was it really hard?

Lydia; Well I wasn’t dirty, daddy was dirty.

Ruth; Oh right you were perfectly clean. Were you hungry?

Lydia: Actually I wasn’t that hungry. Well I mean I didn’t feel hungry but I was hungry.

Ruth; So did you eat anything?

Lydia; And then after we ate hamburgers before we went back to our camp ground we stopped at a gas station and we got some ummm cheddar popcorn and ice cream bars.

Ruth; Were you tired? I got a picture of you fast asleep on the couch in the camper.

Lydia; Wait Ruth now can I say something?

Ruth; Go ahead.

Lydia; Ummm and the after I got out of a warm shower I laid in my bed and feel asleep for two hours (Lydia time). Ok now go back and read it to me and tell me if this is dumb.

Ruth; OK I’ll read it to you but it’s not dumb, it’s cute.

Lydia; (after I read it to her and she laughed the whole time) It’s funny.

Ruth; Good now I just need to go back and edit. One more thing, I found these pictures anything to say about them?

Lydia; Um well that one of us was the first picture at the start you were trying to find. And um after the bike ride dad’s socks were sooo dirty and plus it was his new socks!

Ruth; So can you please tell me why you rode 105 miles in one day?

Lydia; Well I don’t really keep track of how many miles I ride, but I kinda knew I was doing something 100, but I didn’t really know, and my mom didn’t know before the night before that I was doing 108, she thought I was doing 40 or something.

Ruth; So you and mom didn’t really know you were doing 100 at all? Was it worth it? And would you do it again?

Lydia; YES!!! Next year I wanna do Land Run!

Ruth; Anything else you have to say before you go?

Lydia; Umm huuu … I don’t know.

Ruth; OK thanks for your story sis, you can go play now. So there you have it, my nine year old sister has stuck out 100 miles on a bike and wants to do it again. If she can so can you! When dad gets home I’ll get him to clear up some of the details and how long it took etc… But today was a pretty fun blog.

*Lydia comes back* “Ruth, will you read it to me again?” *Sigh* OK…

P.S. It took 9hours something.

One thought on “El Camino 105

Leave a comment